Uncertain

The 30 Day Song Challenge keeps on rolling and today it’s the turn of a song I used to love but now hate. I must admit this wasn’t an easy one for me. I don’t hate any songs I used to love. In fact, I’ve remained quite faithful to all of them. I guess it’s possible that there were one or two songs that I liked in the past that I’m now ambivalent towards. After racking my brain I remembered that I’d been quite enamoured by the first ever single from The Cranberries back in 1991. I was working in a record shop at the time and there had been a bit a fuss about the release as they were a local band and big things were expected of them. We didn’t normally carry singles in the shop, but this was actually brought out as an EP. It was issued in two formats and we ordered a few copies of both the CD and the 12″. Apparently, a total of just 5,000 copies of the Uncertain EP were ever produced and it was never re-issued when the band did become successful. I bought a copy on CD and listened to it a lot and really liked its title track. I even liked some of the band’s subsequent releases, though I find it hard to listen to them now. I actually like their sound and think the musicians in the band are quite accomplished. However, I’m not a fan of Dolores O’Riordan’s vocals and lyrics and that’s the main reason why I no longer listen to their music. I don’t even have my copy of the EP anymore. A few years ago, I met a guy from Latvia who was visiting Limerick for a few days. He told me he was a huge fan of the band and the only release he was missing was the Uncertain EP. I told him I had it and that he was welcome to it. He wanted to pay me for it but I was having none of it. It obviously meant a lot to him to have the CD and I was certain it was going to a good home

Uncertain – The Cranberries

Image taken from A Catalyst For Innovation

30 Day Song Challenge Archive