Going Underground

What’s the difference between an Irish wedding and an Irish funeral? There’s one fewer drunk at an Irish funeral. One of the few certainties in life is that we’ll die and I suppose the best we can hope for is a good send off. I’m already working on a playlist of songs to be played on that fateful day and it includes such classics as Return to Sender, Highway to Hell and Another One Bites the Dust. However, if I had to pick just one tune then it would have to be Going Underground by The Jam. It was the tenth song they released as a single and the band’s first number one in the UK charts. In fact, it entered the charts at number one and was only the tenth single to achieve that feat at the time. It’s quite an angry and subversive song and it remains one of my favourite chart toppers ever. I have no plans to be cremated and I would be delighted if this song gets a spin as my casket is lowered into the ground

Going Underground – The Jam

30 Day Song Challenge Archive