Here Comes The Rain Again

The weekend just gone was a bank holiday in Ireland and the weather was quite unusual for early June in Ireland – it was sunny. I was working for most of it and I played hours of sunshine tunes while I relaxed at work. I was back there again today, but this time I had to put together a completely different playlist. The image above shows the view that greeted me this morning as I drew back the curtains before making the short journey to my place of employment. It got worse as the day went on before improving in the evening. Of course, we’re used to this kind of weather in Ireland, even in the summer. I enjoy sunny days, but I like rainy ones just as much. As long as I don’t get caught out in them, of course. I find that music can be the perfect compliment to the rhythm of the falling rain, so I listened to over a hundred rain songs at work today. Here are half a dozen of them


Happy When It Rains – The Jesus & Mary Chain

Summer Rain – The Lackloves

Walking In The Rain – Grace Jones

Raindrops Keep Falling On My Head (BJ Thomas cover) – Mercury Rev

Have You Ever Seen The Rain? (Creedence Clearwater Revival cover) – Teenage Fanclub

I See the Rain (Marmalade cover) – Matthew Sweet & Susanna Hoffs

