Blitzkrieg Bop

It’s the final day in my 30 Day Song Challenge and today’s selection is my favourite song at this time last year. Now, I don’t know about you, but it’s hard enough for me to remember my favourite song from last week, never mind last year. Fortunately, I have a way of finding out what I was listening to on any particular date over the last few years. It’s all thanks to a music site called last.fm that lists all the songs you listen to on certain sites and music devices. This process is known as “scrobbling” and over the last few years the songs I’ve listened to on iTunes and my iPod have been automatically scrobbled to my last.fm account. It seems that I didn’t listen to any music on the first of May, 2010, as my last.fm didn’t scrobble any tracks on that day. However, it did scrobble three on the next day: Last Nite by The Strokes, Anarchy in the UK by The Sex Pistols and Blitzkrieg Bop by The Ramones. I like all three songs, but Blitzkrieg Bop is my favourite from that trio. Even though it’s the final song in this month-long challenge, it was the band’s first single release in 1976 and was also the opening track on their debut album. A couple of weeks ago, the Cover Me blog posted a number of rock covers performed by Ukranian pianist Vika Yermolyeva. You can check out her instrumental take on Blitzkrieg Bop along with the original version below. “Hey ho, let’s go!”

Blitzkrieg Bop – The Ramones

Blitzkrieg Bop (Ramones cover) – Vika Yermolyeva

30 Day Song Challenge Archive

