When You Awake

The best band I ever saw in concert was the E Street Band, Bruce Springsteen’s impressive backing group. However, my favourite band is a group that I never saw perform live. The Band started out backing another of my favourite performers when they toured and recorded with Bob Dylan during the mid 60s. I knew a few of their songs before buying their albums, but my first purchase by this Canadian outfit was a video tape of the film of their farewell concert in San Francisco from 1976. I splashed out on The Last Waltz partly because Martin Scorsese was its director, but also because it featured an impressive cast that included Dylan, Neil Young, Van Morrison and Joni Mitchell. The more I watched the film the more I started to get into all the other performers and especially the talents of Robbie Robertson, Levon Helm, Rick Danko, Garth Hudson and Richard Manuel. It was only then that I decided to buy their recordings and the band’s self-titled second album (detail above) remains one of my favourite albums by anyone. I could have chosen any song from it, but I’ve gone for When You Awake because it makes a nice follow-up to yesterday’s post

When You Awake – The Band

30 Day Song Challenge Archive

