I Can’t Stop Dancing

I must admit that I do nearly all my dancing when I’m under the influence of alcohol, though I won’t just dance to anything. However, I have been known to voluntarily move my feet to certain music even when sober. It is, after all, the particular rhythm of a song that makes me dance and not the drink. I Can’t Stop Dancing is one of those songs and, in my experience, it definitely lives up to its name. It was a Top Ten hit for Archie Bell and the Drells in 1968 and was a follow up to their breakthrough hit earlier that year, Tighten Up. The group continued for over a decade but they never matched the success of these first two hits. I Can’t Stop Dancing is a funky, joyous number that lasts for just a couple of minutes and seems to have been written with the intention of getting the audience out on the dancefloor. This seems to be a recurring theme in the band’s music, as some of their other titles include such songs as Let’s Groove, I Could Dance All Night and Do the Choo Choo. According to this site, an English nightclub manager with the rather improbable name of Steve Stevens holds the world record for the longest ever dance marathon. He danced non-stop for over five days straight with just a five-minute break every hour. It took a team of thirty DJs to keep the music going. I wonder if any of them played I Can’t Stop Dancing

I Can’t Stop Dancing – Archie Bell & the Drells

30 Day Song Challenge Archive

