Buddy Holly

I can think of loads of songs that I associate with friends and acquaintances and certain songs always remind me of specific people. This is also true of songs named after people. So, whenever I hear Weezer‘s Buddy Holly I always think of Buddy Holly the singer and one of the pioneers of rock and roll. The song was released on September 7th, 1994, and was the second single taken from the band’s self-titled debut album. September 7th was also the date that Buddy Holly was born in Texas in 1936. Sadly, Holly died aged just 22 in that 1958 plane crash that also claimed the lives of Richie Valens and the Big Bopper. A Best of Buddy Holly cassette that I picked up in a department store in Tipperary town was one of the first albums I bought and also one of my most played when I only had a few dozen tapes to listen to. Along with Chuck Berry he was one of the first performers to write his own material and his distinctive vocals and guitar style still sound great today. I would think that he borrowed some of his guitar licks from Bo Diddley and he certainly borrowed one of his songs. It’s also called Bo Diddley, surely one of the few instances where a singer has written and recorded a song named after himself

Buddy Holly – Weezer

Bo Diddley (Bo Diddley cover) – Buddy Holly

30 Day Song Challenge Archive

