How Bazaar

Later today, I’ll be visiting a bar boot sale at the Raggle Taggle Studios space on the corner of Sarsfield St and Henry St in Limerick. It’s basically a car boot sale without the cars. I guess it would be more correct to call it a jumble sale or a garage sale or even a flea market, but what’s in a name anyway? As you can see from the top half of the event’s poster (above), the sale will include clothes, footwear, records, CDs, DVDs, books and other stuff that people no longer want. Sellers have paid €10 each to set up a stall in the hope of swapping their unwanted goods for some hard-earned cash. I’ve accumulated quite a bit of “stuff” over the years myself and I should actually be trying to flog some of it from behind a stall. Instead, I’ll be popping down to have a browse and no doubt hand over some euros for items I don’t really need and have no place in which to store them. I can’t wait. The sale begins at 1:00 and runs until 6:00. It’s free entry for punters, though they may donate a few bob if they wish. It only costs a tenner for stallholders to set up and they get to keep any money they earn. Donations collected by the organisers will be used to fund an annual interactive digital arts festival called Tweak

Over the years I’ve amassed a large collection of CDs and I’ve picked up the majority of these by browsing through the sale sections of record shops, secondhand record stores and charity shops. I managed to pick up all three albums by the English band Sleeper in this way. Sale of the Century was the second single taken from the band’s second album, The It Girl (1996). Sleeper’s fellow Britpoppers Suede released their third album in 1996 and Trash was the first single taken from it. Junk Shop Clothes appears on New Wave, the 1993 debut album from The Auteurs, one of Britpop’s lesser known bands. I’ll let you know in a few days if I come across any more treasures at today’s jumble sale

Sale Of The Century – Sleeper

Trash – Suede

Junk Shop Clothes – The Auteurs

Images courtesy of Limerick Bar Boot Sale

