Try Whistling These

Today is Australia Day and to commemorate the occasion I’ve decided to pick some songs from down under. I’ve actually chosen eight acts from New Zealand, as I’m sure they’re feeling a bit left out today. Two of the most famous Kiwis of recent years are the Flight of the Conchords, a comedy duo who have a couple of TV series and the same number of albums under their belts. I still prefer their debut album from 2008 and Ladies of the World is one of my favourite songs from it. The Mint Chicks hail from Auckland but are now based in the States. Crush is their cover of a song by another Kiwi band called Tall Dwarfs, who were part of what was known as the Dunedin sound. They were part of a number of bands from the 80s that included The Bats, The Chills and The Verlaines. However, New Zealand’s most famous musician has to be Neil Finn, who wrote Split Enz‘s biggest hit, I Got You. He went on to even more success as leader of Crowded House and Better Be Home Soon closes my favourite album by the band, Temple of Low Men (1988). For the day that’s in it, I’ve included his fine cover of a 1985 hit from Australia’s Hunters & Collectors. Watch this space on New Zealand Day when I’ll post a few songs from Aussie acts

Ladies of the World – Flight of the Conchords

Crush (Tall Dwarfs cover) – The Mint Chicks

Miss These Things – The Bats

Rain – The Chills

Pyromaniac – The Verlaines

I Got You (Live) – Split Enz

Better Be Home Soon – Crowded House

Throw Your Arms Around Me (Hunter & Collectors cover) – Neil Finn

Image courtesy of Jive Turkey

One thought on “Try Whistling These

  1. Pingback: Live It Up « Town Full of Losers

Comments are closed.