Merry Xmas Everybody!

Today’s holiday tune comes from 1973 and is a perennial Christmas favourite in the British Isles. Merry Xmas Everybody by Slade was their biggest selling single and the band’s sixth and final number one. I wouldn’t say the song is very well-known in the USA as the band, like a lot of glam rock groups, weren’t very successful over there. Nevertheless, I’ve chosen a version by a California-based band with a French name. Eux Autres feature siblings Nicholas and Heather Larimer from Omaha plus drummer Yoshi Nakamoto. Broken Bow is the title of the band’s third album, which was released last month. Their take on Merry Xmas Everybody replaces the driving guitar of the original with a stomping piano version that also includes some extra percussion. I’d just like to take this opportunity to wish a Happy Christmas to all the regular and irregular visitors to the site this year. I’m hoping to post the final part of my 12 Songs of Christmas tomorrow, though it could be later in the week as I’m a bit behind schedule. Well, it is Christmas, after all. Have a good one, folks

Merry Xmas Everybody (Slade cover) – Eux Autres

The 12 Songs of Christmas Archive

