Time of the Season

The clocks are going back all over Europe a few hours after midnight and this means that everybody should be looking forward to an extra hour in bed tonight. At the moment, the time of sunrise in my hometown is approaching 8.30am, but tomorrow that will be pushed back an hour until it evens out at about 8.45 during the latter half of December. In contrast, the sun will now be setting at nearly 5.00pm from tomorrow and will approach 4.30 during November and slightly earlier throughout most of December. The day that will see the least amount of sunshine will be, of course, December 21st when Limerick will see just over seven and a half hours of daylight. However, with the weather we get in this country, I wouldn’t be surprised if we don’t even get that much. This change won’t make any difference for me in the morning as I rarely get up before 10.00am, though I’m sure I’ll notice it in the evening. Here are three tunes to remind you all in Europe to remember to put your clocks back tonight

The Times They Are A-Changin’ (Bob Dylan cover) – The Byrds

Time Of The Season – The Zombies

Like Clockwork – The Boomtown Rats

