New Adventures in Babysitting

I’m the proud uncle of two little nephews whose ages are three years apart, but still don’t reach double figures even when you add them together. Being boys, they’re both full of energy and love doing stuff like cycling, running, trampolining, and playing football. I enjoy visiting them and, of course, joining in the fun and games with them. Last month, I acted as their babysitter for the first time. I must admit that I was a little apprehensive about looking after them for a whole day and about trying to keep them amused for hours on end. I needn’t have worried as they were very well-behaved all day and it was the two of them who kept me amused. I’m on my way now to look after them again tonight. So, I’ve chosen a few tunes about babysitters and babysitting beginning with a song by The Ramones in which the narrator looks forward to a night spent with his girlfriend while she’s babysitting. The protagonist of Dar William’s song looks back fondly on a childhood babysitter, while the girl employed by Betty Wright looks like she may be seeking new employment before too long. This one goes out to Sean and Patrick and all the future babysitters tasked with the pleasure of looking after them

Babysitter – The Ramones

The Babysitter’s Here – Dar Williams

The Babysitter – Betty Wright

