Climbing the Ladder of Success


The majority of college students in Ireland haven’t had much of a chance to enjoy the unusual good weather we’ve been having lately as their end of term examinations are taking place this week. As I type these words, my thoughts are with my sister who is sitting in an exam hall in Co Cork where she is, no doubt, deep in concentration as she puts pen to paper. Úna is halfway through a four-year Business degree and has been immersed in her books over the last few weeks. She got high grades in her first year and kept up the good work by getting high marks in her first semester essays at Christmas. She has done her research and tried to figure out what areas might come up on the exam papers. I have no doubt that she is completely prepared and I’m sure she’ll continue to get top marks. The most impressive part of her journey as a student is that she also has a husband and two young boys to look after. These three fellas are a full-time job on their own, but Úna has been greatly assisted by her mother-in-law who takes the boys off her hands while she gets her head stuck in the books. I hope that you mostly get questions that fall into the purple circle in the graph and that the ones in the green circle are few and far between. I wish you all the best this week, Úna, and may you enjoy the summer holidays because you deserve them


The Future’s So Bright (I Gotta Wear Shades) – Timbuk3

