A Lighter Load For Finnish Postal Workers


Every day the postman passes my front door and most days he pops something through my letterbox. Usually, these letters contain utility bills or letters that are addressed to one of my housemates. Sometimes I’ll receive a package that contains items that I’ve ordered such as books or cds or even a letter from afar. However, the rise of text messaging, emailing and social networks such as Facebook mean that the majority of communication nowadays is via electronic methods. Still, the postman’s bag is probably no lighter as, like the electronic world, a lot of what he delivers is junk mail. So, his job is still safe in these dodgy economical times and should be for a while yet. But the same cannot be said for the men and women who deliver the post to the citizens of one of Ireland’s European neighbours

Continue reading

