My Favourite Albums of 2009

I’m going to take a short break from counting down my favourite albums of the decade to reveal my ten favourite albums of 2009. I had planned to wait a few days but a lunchtime discussion at The Wild Onion earlier today with a couple of music fans prompted me to put my skates on. The conversation became heated at times with bits of omelette flying around the table as Dave tried to make a strong case for Wilco. John and I are big fans of Bob Dylan and Bruce Springsteen (I’m a little bigger around the waist) but we both agreed that the albums they released this year were pretty mediocre by their standards. So, here are my ten favourites from 2009. I haven’t included albums from The Dirty Projectors, The XX, The Felice Brothers and Camera Obscura because I still haven’t made up my mind about them. The list below includes ones that I played the most during the year as well as ones that I liked the best. It opens with a concept album about cricket and goes on to include a mixture of titles by male and female songwriters that feature a fair bit of strummed or plucked acoustic guitar. Most of these records are ones that I might put on before going to bed or the day after a heavy night on the tiles. In contrast, I can’t imagine playing too many of them before hitting the town on a Saturday night. Personally, I think this is just a coincidence. I’m still a fan of rock ‘n’ roll. It’s just that sometimes I don’t like the tempo to be so fast and the sound to be so loud. That’s just how I roll these days

The Duckworth Lewis Method

The Duckworth Lewis Method

Hold Time - M Ward

Hold Time - M Ward

Sometimes I Wish We Were an Eagle - Bill Callahan

Sometimes I Wish We Were an Eagle - Bill Callahan

Beware - Bonnie Prince Billy

Beware - Bonnie Prince Billy

Truelove's Gutter - Richard Hawley

Truelove's Gutter - Richard Hawley

Bare Bones - Madeleine Peyroux

Bare Bones - Madeleine Peyroux

Sarabeth Tucek

Sarabeth Tucek

To Be Still - Alela Diane

To Be Still - Alela Diane

Here's the Tender Coming - The Unthanks

Here's the Tender Coming - The Unthanks

Middle Cyclone - Neko Case

Middle Cyclone - Neko Case

2 thoughts on “My Favourite Albums of 2009

  1. Good stuff on Neko Case. Prefered the Monsters Of Folk album to M Ward’s solo one this year. Ashamed to see I still haven’t bought the Bill Callahan album – one for January I think.

  2. Pingback: My Favourite Films & DVDs of 2009 « Town Full of Losers

Comments are closed.