Jazz at Shannon Boatclub, Limerick

SpeakeasyJazzLimerick
Tomorrow night I’m popping down to the Speakeasy Jazz night at Limerick Boat Club on Sarsfield Bridge. I’m delighted to hear that the venue is still being used for music. I’ve been to a few gigs and parties there over the years, although it’s been a while since I was last there. I was first introduced to the place sometime in the 90s when some friends of mine, who had been involved with the Rowing Club, took me to a Good Friday party there. I had been under the impression that the place was going to be knocked down, like so many other fine Limerick buildings, but hopefully that’s not true. The first act up is The David Irwin Ensemble and the show begins tomorrow night, June 11th, at 9.30. They’ll be followed by a DJ. I don’t know what kind of music will be on the menu, but here’s a few jazzy tunes to whet the appetite

Limehouse Blues – Django Reinhardt

No Woman No Cry – Charlie Hunter

Coral – Al Dimeola

Chitlins Con Carne – Kenny Burrell

The Shadow of Your Smile – Earl Klugh

Riverboat’s Jazz Band – Cantina Band

Embraceable You – Django Reinhardt & Stephane Grappelli

