Jackson Browne – The Great Pretender

Jackson Browne

Jackson Browne plays the Olympia in Dublin next week. All going well, I should be going to see him on Tuesday with my friend John. I’ve seen Browne perform live twice already, but I’ve yet to see him headline. The first time I saw him was at The Riverbend, Cincinnati, Ohio, on the eve of my 33rd birthday in 2002. Amazingly, he was supporting Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers. Both acts were brilliant and it was one of the best concerts I’ve ever seen outside Ireland. And, if I remember correctly, the tickets only cost about $35. The next time I saw him was at the first (or was it second?) Midlands Musical Festival near Mullingar in 2006. Along with Guy Clark, Loudon Wainwright III and Glen Campbell, he was one of the highlights of that now, sadly, defunct festival

Jackson Browne was just one of many singer-songwriters who started out in the late 60s and early 70s. His father was a serviceman in the US army and Browne was born in Germany in 1948. His first album was released in 1972, although Nico had recorded her excellent version of his These Days in 1967. The Eagles had a hit with his Take It Easy and both these songs appear on his second album, For Everyman. After Late For the Sky (1974), he released The Pretender and Running on Empty, my favourites among his work. I’ve included the title tracks from these two albums

The Pretender

Running on Empty

One thought on “Jackson Browne – The Great Pretender

  1. Pingback: Brand New Key « Town Full of Losers

Comments are closed.