Fabienne’s Crémaillere, Moriarty & Depeche Mode

Vous etes bien Arrivés!

Last month, my friend Fabienne invited me to her housewarming. Not unusual, you might say. But, Fabienne lives in France and I live in Ireland and she didn’t think that I’d make the trip. However, Fabienne forgot that I’m Irish and we never refuse a party invitation. A short (and cheap) Ryanair flight later and I was drinking wine and eating cheese at Fabienne’s new abode. I got to meet some old friends and make some new ones and to improve my use of the English language.

So, with a couple of dozen French men and women, a Canadian, an American, and an Irishman the house got well and truly warmed. To be fair, it’s a cosy old house with a lot of character and warmth, so it didn’t take too much to warm it. Fabienne and her boyfriend Guillaume were amiable hosts and there was a nice spread of food as well as a generous amount of beverages laid on. There’s an old Irish saying that when an Irishman is invited to a wedding he stays for the christening. Of course, I only stayed for a few days to help them get rid of the food and drink that was left over.

Moriarty

During this time I listened to loads of brilliant French bands (really) and also to the first album from the American singer, Alela Diane. I was also introduced to the music of a band called Moriarty. Apparently, Moriarty is a band composed of French and American personnel, the majority of whom grew up in France, but they sing in English. Their music contains elements of folk, blues and country. Check out their song Jimmy from their album, Gee Whiz But This Is a Lonesome Town. I’ve also included their version of Enjoy the Silence by Depeche Mode

Jimmy

Enjoy the Silence


The Guardian’s New Band of the Day from Sept 2008

Moriarty’s My Space page

